• Character
  • Integrity
  • Trust
  • Relationships
  • Success

CITRS Virtues Matrix

The CITRS Virtues Matrix is a one-page teaching document that offers a glance of our comprehensive vocabulary of the over 100 virtues taught by CITRS. The Virtues Matrix is also used as a stand-alone vocabulary program to support students’ vocabulary learning and literacy development.

  • CITRS Primary 10 Virtues: Historically based, these ten virtues – shown from left to right – include Integrity (CITRS’ “Fundamental” virtue); Self-Control, Justice, and Fortitude (CITRS’ “Foundational” virtues); Positive Attitude, Humility, and Respect (CITRS’ “Relational” virtues); and Wisdom, Love, Charity (CITRS’ “Ultimate” virtues). While it is preferable to teach the primary virtues in this order, virtues can be learned in any order.
  • Progressive Stages for each Primary Virtue: Appearing in vertical rows in bold ink under each Primary 10 Virtue are five to six “Progressive Stage Virtues.” These begin with a basic mastery to move to a more complex, nuanced explanation of the virtue. For example, under the virtue of Integrity, one moves progressively, starting with Honesty, to Keeping his/her Word, to Responsibility, to Strength, and finally to Morality (Uprightness).
  • “In the Family” Virtues: Listed beneath each Progressive Stage are the “In the Family” Virtues – many different terms that are synonymous or connected with each previous virtue above. The “In the Family” Virtues help students to significantly grow and foster a deeper understanding of their character vocabularies.